Engine oil

• Click here to become an Official Member of BMW Club Malaysia Download Form

DMeNS

Club Guest
Dear all forumers and sifu-sifu here,I'm a newbie and just "accidentally" found this forum by surfing throught the net to kill my boredom. Im not sure if i posted this thread at the correct place and no entry was found regarding this matter (maybe i overlook). I own an e60 523I, I am wondering anyone of you who owns this particular model have the same problem with me. The engine oil level will be low after a few months of driving and owes need to add in new engine oil. Is this normal or maybe leaking? And also, can the microfilter be changed by DIY? Cauz Im lazy to make appointment with auto bavaria to send it in for microfilter replacement only. Thanks ppl for your input! Cheers!

I have heard E90 325i engine oil vanish a liter after several months and keeps repeating despite topping up. Exhaust no oil stain, coolant no oil stain, engine housing no oil stain.. dunno where the oil goes.. SC had no choice but to swap the engine with a new unit, under warranty..

Yea, I think mine do have the problem as well, I toped up a litre sometimes around christmas time and the last time round i toped up 2 weeks back. Theres exactly no sign of leaking but the oil just vanished. I've consulted the personnel from auto bavaria but they said quite normal?? I doubt it's normal so I would like some input from this forum to make sure who is telling the truth. Anyway I've toped up 4-5 times since I got this car starting from milege 6km until 23000km currently.

Bro I hear so many people telling me same thing. Apparently, its prevalent to the new magnesium engines you won't get problem if its older modeled engine.

Maybe the 5w30 engine oil too thin and vaporised lio la.. not entirely impossible.. :p