How Often you top up engine oil (E60)

• Click here to become an Official Member of BMW Club Malaysia Download Form

louiswaw

Club Guest
Hi, This is my first time the i-drive light up "engine oil is at minimum level" after 6 mths of driving my e60. Call up mechanic and he advise me to top up 1 liter of engine oil..It has reached 7km since my last service. Do u all spare at least a liter of engine oil with you car?How often do u top up you engine oil.Thanks

mine's N52. Been 2 months. Never topped up. Checked last Sun, oil on max level

Magnesium engine bro. Every 8,000 km top up one litre. (Engineering flaw)
Somemore BMW brand cost $90+ per litre.

i'm on N52 too...06 recond 523i, the drop in oil level to the minimum only happened to me once before my first service...but since that, the engine oil remain at max level....already serviced the car 3 times average of 8K km done before car send for service...

went to workshop top up 1 liter of Mobil 1....everything back to normal...warning light disappeared. 1 liter of Mobil 1 engine oil cost me RM55.00 only

mine 530d - never top up the engine oil.

I also learned one thing about engine oil. Do not simply buy engine oil even though it is fully synthetic. BMW E60 has to use Longlife -01 or better Longlife -04. Recently I bought engine oil and only meet the LL-98 which is not good for our E60.

I think that this "Makan Minyak" issue has been discussed extensively before.. Bro Louismaw, you might want to check through the postings!
This issue affects mostly those BMWs with N52 engine (so called Magnesium engine lah..)... be it 3-Series, 5-Series or whatever Sili :D a few forumers actually wrote complains to BMW Malaysia and they got replacement engine block from respective authorised service centre.... I think fellow forumer Yellowmanta changed his engine block at about RM22k++ which was all borne by AB itself! :eek: imagine if he has to pay for the cost!