RON 97 or RON 95? What brand?

• Click here to become an Official Member of BMW Club Malaysia Download Form

silvy

Club Guest
Hey guys, this is my first time owning a BMW. Would like to ask all BMW owners, is it advisable to use RON 97 over RON 95, considering the price gap of RM1 per litre.The cons of 97 is of course its expensive price.What about the pros? Is it worth?What brand is best ?Btw, my car is 328i. Thanks for all the feedback. If this thread is repetitive and answered elsewhere, i do apologize and moderator please delete this post.

silvy;787246 said:
Hey guys, this is my first time owning a BMW. Would like to ask all BMW owners, is it advisable to use RON 97 over RON 95, considering the price gap of RM1 per litre.

The cons of 97 is of course its expensive price.What about the pros? Is it worth?

What brand is best ?

Btw, my car is 328i.

There is one thread here but not with comprehensive comparison ...
http://www.bmwclubmalaysia.com/foru...Primax3-vs-Shell-Green&highlight=petrol+brand

The best i like if from user "alantiong"
at http://www.bmwclubmalaysia.com/foru...ron-95-or-ron-97/page2&highlight=petrol+brand

which i quote below

Its funny to see this discussion here. A good argument and make us think a bit. To be honest, all of them are the same within 1.2% tolerance in terms of content. (between the brands). The integrity of the fuel depends on the logistic and storage of the fuel. The fuel will deteriorate and contaminated in storages and transfers. I know this as I am supplying the systems to them.

All our UDMs run perfectly on 95. Anything more is waste of $$. Unless you tune your car up to limit on the advance of your ignition, you will not experience much benefit by going 97. Infact if we have 92, i will run 92.

For that 25% more in fuel price to compare with, it is a no brainer. By the way, non of BMW engines will be harm by not using 97. Absolutely no harm at all.