Re-mapping for more horse power. Is it a good idea?

• Click here to become an Official Member of BMW Club Malaysia Download Form

schnitzered

Club Guest
Hi Guys and all the Masters out there. Im new to discussion threads although ive long been registered as a forumer...since 2008 i think. I consider myself a newbie here :wink: Ive been pondering whether to do re-mapping to enhance the horsepower for my E46. Whats your take on this issue guys?

Here's an example E46 330i with 231 hp as standard after remaph 244hp ... meanwhile torque is 300NM standard after remap it's 325NM ... cost would be RM2k (that was the price quoted to me) IMHO it would not be worth it for me if my car is still stock standard unless i've done exhaust systems with race cat, headers, CAI, cams ... In other words it would be my last option after i've done those things or at least 3 out 5 thing i've mentioned cos i would have to spend another RM2k to re-map again when i install new parts to the car. I'm talking about NA cars tho if you have a turbo diesel or turbo cars like the 335i then go for it.

Is there really no trade offs for ECU remap, other than parting with your money for the remap? Please be honest!

astroboy;404125 said:
Is there really no trade offs for ECU remap, other than parting with your money for the remap? Please be honest!

I'm sure there is ... i'm guessing here so please chime in if i'm wrong .... trade off's would be higher FC, faster wear n tear of engine and drivetrain components ... errr that's all i can think off actually :D

Actually a retune would be good to cater to what your engine can do.. Bear in mind that every engine would have slight variation of power from the factory, no 2 engines would be 100% identical due to the engines having so many components and that different climate and fuel would affect the power output.