E38 730i years 95

• Click here to become an Official Member of BMW Club Malaysia Download Form

PBB520

Club Guest
Hi All,Im currently using E28 520i in penang islang and i've got an offer from a mechanic where i serviced my car an offer of 43k for 730i E38.Honestly after look at it, i fell in love with it, but i was aware that it's V8 and it's such a big car.That's why i come here to ask all the users here to share what's the major problem that usually haunts the user of E38..I need some info regarding this matter so that i can prpare a budget for it incase something wrong with the car, n i might not take it IF THE COST OF MAINTAINANCE is too HIGH... Hope you guys can help and get me some info..Thank You in advance for the info,

Hi,

I am no pro but what i learned bout the e38 main problems are absobers, gearbox and the most, Nikasil problem. I guess its never cheap to maintain any 7 series for that matter. I have heard that one absorbers cost up to RM 15k or more, if that gives u a rough figure. And nikasil problem would require u to change the entire engine which you could imagine the cost and trouble.

I myself love the e38 alot but calculating every cost and penny, i am totally not ready for it so i had to give up. Otherwise, its one of the best cruiser around :) with a lot of style...

Regards

EuJax;414664 said:
Hi,

I am no pro but what i learned bout the e38 main problems are absobers, gearbox and the most, Nikasil problem. I guess its never cheap to maintain any 7 series for that matter. I have heard that one absorbers cost up to RM 15k or more, if that gives u a rough figure. And nikasil problem would require u to change the entire engine which you could imagine the cost and trouble.

I myself love the e38 alot but calculating every cost and penny, i am totally not ready for it so i had to give up. Otherwise, its one of the best cruiser around :) with a lot of style...

Regards