SR20DET or 13B would be the best?

• Click here to become an Official Member of BMW Club Malaysia Download Form

M30-Newbie

Club Guest
I'm new in BCM, hope all senior can help me~I do have an E30 Coupe, but engine was bust. So now thinking to upgrade to either SR20DET (S14) or 13B (FD3S), even both half cut was found with fair price and both was loaded too.How you all suggestion, go for SR20DET or 13B? I will accept and listen to all party of suggestion.:top:

i have yet to see an e30 with a 13b inside in msia..perhaps you should pioneer the project heehe

13B would be interesting but be prepared for a lot of modification done to fit that into the engine bay...
And engine overhaul every 50,000km or 100,000km to change the apex seals..

jumpman;558743 said:
i have yet to see an e30 with a 13b inside in msia..perhaps you should pioneer the project heehe

In May land, I think 13B engine is not popular. Because:
1. They think rotary not lasting
2. Fuel eater
3. Very hard to find an pro mechanic
4. Maybe hard to get part.

Back to topic, If E30 convert to SR20DET. Many modification need to be done?

Suggestion: sr20

Better suggestion: keep BMW heart, perhaps different engine, for as long as it stays within BMW family.

It might be cheaper to get one from mudah. Complete cars, with Jap engines fitted.

kgb;558757 said:
Suggestion: sr20

Better suggestion: keep BMW heart, perhaps different engine, for as long as it stays within BMW family.

It might be cheaper to get one from mudah. Complete cars, with Jap engines fitted.

Mind to show me that link?

'upgrade' to a japanese engine?? i think you're in the wrong forum. this Club is affiliated with BMW Council International; doubt they will appreciate.

when i get my 1st bimmer belong to my dad e30 bout 10 years ago i trasnplant to rb20det...but the result like shit i spend so alot of money so regret.................better stick to the ori eng.

mizhan;558845 said: