Gearbox light on

• Click here to become an Official Member of BMW Club Malaysia Download Form

VNP

Club Guest
Guys, need advice on the problem that I am facing now. Whenever I park my car on a slope for about half an hour or longer,the gearbox light will remain on after starting the engine and when I engage the gear to D the car will move a little and stop.Same thing when reverse. After 3 times off and restart the car then only the gearbox light will go off and I can drive normally again.Have anyone experience this problem before and know where is the problem? Thank you.VNP

Is this your first time experiencing this problem.

It sound like one of the solenoids of the GB is sticky or faulty.

Can you confirm that the GB fail to engage?

oil gearbox low, parking at slope ticks off the warning light...

and jarance could be right also...

boyburhan;715472 said:
Check ur GB oil bro...

Thanks for all your replies. Yes this is my first time experiencing this problem.
You're right bro, should check my GB oil. By the way is there a dip stick to check the gearbox oil just like for the engine oil?
or is it too complicated that I must send to the Mechanic to do it?

Thanks

VNP

you're going to need to jack the car up and check the level from below the car. its not like myvi etc where there's a dipstick to check the level. so you've got no choice to bring it to your mechanic i guess.

i believe u hv to send it to them, it takes 2 days. mine just send this evening, same probs as u.

Gearbox light on

jarance;715390 said:
Is this your first time experiencing this problem.

It sound like one of the solenoids of the GB is sticky or faulty.

Can you confirm that the GB fail to engage?

Since I have to send my ride to my mech to check the gearbox oil level,I would like to explore other options first that
I can DIY. Uncle Jarance, is the solenoids for the gearbox located in the fusebox or is it somewhere else. Yesterday