bmw e46 with M43 engine really not that recommend?

• Click here to become an Official Member of BMW Club Malaysia Download Form

nivekqueen

Dear All,

It is my pleasure to write a msg to all of owner of BMW.
Recently I plan to sell my buatan malaysia car because the size was too small and not suitable for taking family going back hometown or going makan makan.

I used to be a general technician before that more on repairing Japanese vehicle, i have confident on maintenance BMW if it just need to change engine oil and transmission oil. Maybe It also a opportunity for learning BMW car when getting one.

Here the question,

All my fren (without BMW) recommend me get the facelift version with N42 engine which they said more powerful (CKD)
I have visit 2 used car dealer to look at e46 facelift, the condition not that good, and the pricing was around 48~50k OTR.
which quite a burden for me. Because It just can loan 3~4 years with high interest rate and monthly payment with rm 9xx.

I put my view on the non facelift version (CKD) with 1900cc M43 engine. when I mention to fren,
they reaction were : walau.....u will regret, it damn underpower and u cant even win a proton on acceleration.

but the pricing was marvelous and I maybe can buy it with cash (if with good deal).

Need advise from otai otai or ex owner maybe current owner,
m43 really that not recommend?
m43 auto transmission was GM transmission with 4 speed or 5 speed?

I awaiting good news with patient.

Thank you

Between the above 2 choices, I would go for M43 1.9 Although may not have as much oomph as the N42/N46 but maintenance wise is more affordable.
However if you have the budget, you may want to take a look at those M54 E46 which are 320i 2.2, 325i 2.5 or the marvellous 330i 3.0

Don't bother with the n42, go straight to the m54 if possible

subraputra said:
M43 is 4 speed gear box
thank you bro.
will the fuel consumption and pick up slow?

Vincent Hor said: