Looking to buy an E34. Need advice.

• Click here to become an Official Member of BMW Club Malaysia Download Form

Redd

Club Guest
me mom's looking to get an E34. specifically, she's looking at a Year 1990 model E34 520i with 5-speed manual and 200k kms on the clock.what should i be looking out for with this car? i'm a total newbie to bimmers so i dont know heads or tails of what to pay attention to when viewing the car. what are the usual wear and tear parts, and/or problem parts with this model?any difficulty in getting it serviced? do i need to visit specific workshops who know their kungfu? what about parts - where to source?lastly, is RM29k a good price if the car is in good nick?any advice will be greatly appreciated!redd

1990 E34 for 29K is expensive la bro... :) the rear subframe is different.!! but easy to find LSD for it.!!

as for the M50B20 24 valves...it's different liao... :)

For year 90,29K is mahal......u canget it aroung 20-24K......if possible,look for M50 engine which i ithink post 91, 525.....E34 is a good car. Before commit, as usual check the car service history......most importantly make sure no major accident b4...sent to workshop for inspection...Good luck

Redd,

my ride is a '93 520i, "stock-standard" 5-sp.... :p

after you've tested your '90 520i... come to puchong... and i'll offer you a chance to tell the difference between M50B20-5sp and M20B20-5sp... :nyehehe: :nyehehe:

just PM me or call zoggee....

btw... maintenance cost on my car is low... because it's stock standard... no performance parts.... :yes:

regards

MagicFox, u have one performance part leh - the rear subframe inserts!

Anyway Redd, many workshops know how to service the E34 and parts are aplenty. Take the car for an inspection. If you are in PJ, many workshops available - Optimum, BA Auto Services, M1 etc - all in the Kayu Ara area.

pardon me ignorance, but...

1. what is M50B20 and M20B20? is it the platform code? what's the difference?