e38 engine conversion

• Click here to become an Official Member of BMW Club Malaysia Download Form

sbalasundram

Club Guest
Hi guys, I'm quite new to the 7 series forum, since I usually use the 5series forum.. However, guys I have some questions...My brother is planning to buy a 740 e38 (1996), and wishes to convert it to the 728 engine.Will it be costly to do that? Anyone of you all have done it?Is it possible to request for some potential (mechanic) to take care ( all in one) of the trade in of engine, jpj , approval, etcc??Hope you guys could suggest....ThxRgds,bsuresh

Youre not gonna get much (trade in) for the 4.0V8. The 728i E38 or E39 half cut (which you'll need due to different wiring, gearbox, ECU and so forth) will cost nothing less than 15K, conversion plus JPJ "work" will be another 3-5K and have another 3-5K for spares such as water pump, gaskets, filters, oil, plugs and so forth.

I might have a solution...e-mail to Holsteiner2003@yahoo.com

Originally posted by Zackary1@Sep 7 2005, 12:18 AM
Youre not gonna get much (trade in) for the 4.0V8. The 728i E38 or E39 half cut (which you'll need due to different wiring, gearbox, ECU and so forth) will cost nothing less than 15K, conversion plus JPJ "work" will be another 3-5K and have another 3-5K for spares such as water pump, gaskets, filters, oil, plugs and so forth.

I might have a solution...e-mail to Holsteiner2003@yahoo.com

downgrade to 3.0 ..

sifus
if I'm not mistaken..if u r downgrading engine..shouldnt be much jpj prob as the cars mechanicals ie brakes can take the smaller engine output..

however, I suppose b4 putting in the engine..do you have to get the certified AP to go with the halfcut..[remembering Koko Zoggee's advice here] :D

Originally posted by et5@Sep 7 2005, 04:09 AM
sifus
if I'm not mistaken..if u r downgrading engine..shouldnt be much jpj prob as the cars mechanicals ie brakes can take the smaller engine output..