Adjusting brake bias-How to?

• Click here to become an Official Member of BMW Club Malaysia Download Form

maco5007

Club Guest
Guys,Is it true that after changing to performance brake discs and calipers for example brembo etc we need to adjust the brake bias of the car? :blink: If so how can this be done? Can DIY or need special equipment? Plan to do this soon, so your expert advice will be appreciated... :D

BTW, Im just replacing the front units...the rear stock...(for the time being)...until more funds comes up... :D

i'm no expert......but i'll tell you what i know

brake bias is controlled by a valve, some have it selectable in cockpit or at the valve itself e.g.. percentage bias front to rear like those WRC cars

if you have bigger brakes up front, chances are bias will float to the front, coz there's a bigger pressure build due to the huge diffrences in brake piston diameter

yuo would have to then calculate the differences of surface pressures differences from the front and back, from the original setup and new setup e.g. ori setup maybe 59%-41%, based on surface pressure, and the new setup maybe 75%-25%

so you would probably need to increase the rear bias to get a balance - i'm talking about surface pressure, then you'll have to calculate the appropriate braking pressure to fronts and rear

unless there's a significant increase in the fronts, then the rear would still be using the original bias, the proper way is to get the the rear pressure enough just before the lockup, else the front wil nose dive alot, and the rear will still have force to push the car forward.....

i think ireland engineering sells a brake bias control thing.... can buy on internet...

IMO if you have bought/installed a purpose made BBK for your car, u shouldnt have to resort to brake bias thingies....