325 e46 gearbox kaput?

• Click here to become an Official Member of BMW Club Malaysia Download Form

faizbizandry

Club Guest
Hi all,Need some advise from the experts.I just bought my car 3 month ago and just noticed that there's a few seconds delay on shifting and its not smooth like before..and I also noticed that sometimes,my reverse gear doesn't work..So now, what I would like to know, does changing the atf fluid,filer etc will solved the issue or I just proceed to change to new g/box?

Check your oil condition and level and if ok, check your valve body and solenoids. This needs to be ruled out first before thinking of changing your gearbox.

Thanks for ur advise bro, but how to check the level of the oil?can we checked our self or need to send to workshop for them to check??I can't managed to find the dip stick for atf oil :( (newbie here,so pls do advise if am wrong)

faizbizandry;554930 said:
Thanks for ur advise bro, but how to check the level of the oil?can we checked our self or need to send to workshop for them to check??I can't managed to find the dip stick for atf oil :( (newbie here,so pls do advise if am wrong)

Need a hoist to check bro as they use level plug. The car at idle speed & gear in N position, the mech will open the level plug(filler plug) and the oil will flow out to indicate its at max.

It could be a gear position switch.

however, with a diagnostic tool, you can check if the solenoids are sticky or not.

Normally, checking & changing the ATF oil and filter is the first step if there are no alarm registered.

btw, does the transmission symbol comes ON when you have your problem?

Hi,

There indicator is appearing accordingly, meaning when I enggaged to R or D,the indicator shows normally..there's no warning gb indicator showing up or anything..

faizbizandry;554942 said:
Hi,

There indicator is appearing accordingly, meaning when I enggaged to R or D,the indicator shows normally..there's no warning gb indicator showing up or anything..