radio malfunction or function incorrectly

• Click here to become an Official Member of BMW Club Malaysia Download Form

jun_yap

Club Guest
Hi to all Beemers,I'm newbie here and i had a e39 523i year 2000.I facing a problem that my radio when turning the volume knob suddenly it will go to explode volume, normally now i'm using steering malfunction to adjust the audio volume only. And the sound only coming out from driver seat speaker only, others don't have sound. Suspect the audio player defect.Kindly ask is there any specialize to send for repair this audio player? Cause if wanna change to the taiwan touch screen audio player quite expensive.Regards,yap

Hi Yap, i own a BMW E46 currently. My cousin had some problem of radio with his E39 last time, he tried to find some repair shop to fix it, yet he changed another touch screen dvd player which i think it's a reasonable price. I'm also looking for some android dvd player for my E46. If you have solved your problem or you found any nice dvd for your E39?

Bro, maybe just go to a chop shop and buy a replacement second hand radio, if it is a MID unit you can get about 300-400 only. Post a photo of your current radio.

Also maybe you can try swapping the MID unit with a member here during TT just to test first, it takes only 1 torx screwdriver to remove and refit, and takes less than just two minutes to do.

If you do buy a replacement MID and the display is bad, I can repair that for you.

Btw I dont think your current radio unit can be repaired here.

Bro, maybe just go to a chop shop and buy a replacement second hand radio, if it is a MID unit you can get about 300-400 only. Post a photo of your current radio.

Also maybe you can try swapping the MID unit with a member here during TT just to test first, it takes only 1 torx screwdriver to remove and refit, and takes less than just two minutes to do.

If you do buy a replacement MID and the display is bad, I can repair that for you.