Do you keep your spare tire in the trunk?

• Click here to become an Official Member of BMW Club Malaysia Download Form

masCh

Club Guest
Hey guys. I've been contemplating for many months even years to take out the spare wheel in the trunk because I need the space. I carry lots of stuff like wires and cables and related equipment. The thing is, for the past 4 years I've never had to take out the spare tire to change it and I travel about 30-40K mileage per year. I know the concern is, "peace of mind" or "when you need it at least you have it" but are there any simpler solutions? Perhaps those repair kits you can buy in case you have a puncture? Do you keep your spare tire in the trunk?

Yes, i taken out too, coz got no spare rim for my M5 rim, only 4 pc when i bought it.

Ever since the tubeless tyre is introduced, I never experience doing a road side emergency replacement because whatever sharp object that puncture your tyres, provided they continue to stuck in the tyre (most of the time), take a long time of perhaps weeks to flatten the tyres.

I have a good eye on under-inflated tyres and I do visual check on all my tyres before getting into the car. The moment I see a flabby tyre, I will go to the next petrol kiosk to pump up. If the variance between tyres is huge, maybe the rest are at 29psi and one of them is at 25psi, that's a good indication to continue monitoring that particular tyre or get the tyre shop to inspect.

I never remove any metal object found stuck on the tyre by myself. Always go to a tyre shop and ask them to remove. Most of the time, the object did not penetrated the thick tyre surface but if it penetrated, you are at the tyre shop already and they can fix the lobang on the spot for RM5.

Yes, I support removing the spare tyres if I really need the room. Your car will travel lighter, pick up better, FC improves and to be on the save side, put in a can of tyre puncture patch refill in the car. U should be alright!