BMW cars losing its exclusivity

• Click here to become an Official Member of BMW Club Malaysia Download Form

shanbala

Club Guest
Recent article in Monday's Asian Wall Street Journal:BMW AG to cut production,raise prices globally, especially in the U.S.It was an interesting read but the para that caught my attention:-" Like other premium German brands selling in the U.S.,BMW faces an increasing tough choice between trying to protect profitability and holding on to market share. In recent years, BMW has pushed aggressively to sell cars in the U.S., using discounts and easy leasing terms. Auto executives and analysts warn that BMW risk losing their most valuable asset - their exclusivity. Previously, BMW car buyers paid full price, attracted by the belief they are getting an exclusive product."Are BMW cars losing its exclusivity in Malaysia ?? I have been owing BMW cars since 1990 and I for one agree that its exclusivity has eroded over the last 5-10 years. rgds

In my previous reading, BMW more to protect the exclusivity, but Mers is more to fight for sales volume.

Don't know which one is true, but obviously BMW design more to sporty looks in the future even the flagship, 7 series.

That's why i like my e39 more to e60.

i dont think the exclusivity has eroded, it's just more people have bigger disposable income & they've got taste to splash on nice bmws. have u ever seen a real E34 M5 in Malaysia?? hardly....but the E60 M5s....I've seen so many of them already

also, bmw is so good that it runs well for so long and changes hands in 2nd hand market multiple times over its lifetime. that's why u see so many bmws on the road :top:

I don't know whether is tru or not but one of my germany friends said
we build mercedes for sell
we build bmw for ourself

Or else how could I afford an E90? What exclusivity? High maintenance exclusivity? :stupid: