New E60 520i (Thai) Vs Recond E60 525i

• Click here to become an Official Member of BMW Club Malaysia Download Form

AstroCreep

Club Guest
Hi All,Tough choice!Considering New E60 520i (Thai) or GreyImport E60 525i, with a difference of about 30k is not easy. On one hand, new unit with full 3 yrs AB warranty, compared to one with better power+spec but no support.What's your advise?What do you do if non-AB 525i i-Drive goes kaput or needs updates?(... obviously I'm a newbie in the world of UDM...).

Gulp! I would go for the 525i and keep my fingers crossed! The 520i might be brand new but doesn't mean it's problem free and Auto Bavaria's aftersales is nothing to shout about. Lots of us service their cars elsewhere even if it's still within warranty period.

i would choose the 525 unless you don't mind the lack of power in 520. i'm pretty sure the 525 recond isn't that old, maybe 2004 model...fyi, the Thai-made 520 is manufactured in 2005... :yes:

True.
I have a strong feeling towards the 525i, but at the same time dead worried about the i-drive software.

Non-AB Service Centres can handle+repair+update+hack the i-drive?

This is in fact the only part stopping me from considering 525i recond.

Looks like we are having the same problem. I'm leaning towards the Sawadee 520i as nothing beats a 3 year zero cost warranty. The Jap spec cars looks great, I saw a geuine 7000KM car but who knows? May just end up spending another RM20k annually on maintenance etc... From my past experience with Bimmers, it is likely. There aren't many alternatives at that price. If you bump it up to the E200K level, there is the 523i for consideration as well. *sigh*

Been shopping....

520i CKD 2004 - found one in Sungei Besi @ 268k.
525i CBU 2004 - ranging from 315k to 330k, can be found everywhere...
525i CBU 2003 - 300k onwards.
525i CBU M-Package 2005 - 370k.... this one, found in Setapak, seems too cheap I think... dangerous.