Need advice - 525i Year 2004 (Japan spec)

• Click here to become an Official Member of BMW Club Malaysia Download Form

Juboy

Club Guest
Hi all,I am a newbie to this forum. I'm from KL and hope to own a UDM soon.I am considering buying a recond 525i year 2004 (Japan specs), registered 2011. Current owner bought the car 2 years ago and seldoms use, clocking total of 20K in mileage over 2 years,with total odometer showing 50K mileage now. I trust the current owner mileage usage but as read from this forum, there is no way of knowing what was the actual mileage when imported from Japan.Need advice from the many sifus here regarding :-1) From the online car sites/ used car dealder, the price range I gathered ranges from RM 110K to RM 140K. What will be a market rate for this car to purchase direct from the owner?2) As it's almost a 9 years old car and assuming that it's reasonably maintained, any major parts (due to wear & tear) causing big $$$ that I need to be aware of ?3) It is using M54 engine. If my budget permits, should I go for a newer car (eg 2006) which will have be N52 engine ? 4) Any other pointers will be much appreciate.Thanks alot.Juboy

Asked if you can take it to wearnes autohaus or ingress to check, read the maintenance thread and list the common issues plus make sure to look for water sign (flood)

Good luck on your search bro

Anaksarawak - thanks for the pointer.

Other sifus, any feedback on the market price for this car ?

Thanks alot.

50k mileage for a 9 years old car may sound abit too low. Do check if the mileage have been tampered with. A diagnosis should be able to verify that number.

An 04/05 Jap specs model ranges from RM110-RM140k, depends on the condition and specs (M-Sport or normal). If your budget permits, do go for the M-Sport model which comes with more goodies and offers better handling.