E60 UK diesel

• Click here to become an Official Member of BMW Club Malaysia Download Form

abka

Club Guest
Hello everybody !!i'm new to this forum and like some suggestion/advice on these model.i'm a student in the UK and plan to get myself a 2nd hand BMW as a reward when i completed my study. I want to get any of the diesel variant (520d, 520d MSport or 525dSE) but not really sure about the diesel maintenance in malaysia (as well as spare part!). Is there any major realibility issue on the diesel car as the malaysian diesel is still below the euro4 standard available here. Any effect on the engine as the car now has to run on lower quality diesel? Can somebody help me on these issue? thanksabka

you may want to check out whether the UK version has a particulate filter... i got the 2009 520d, as the fuel quality is still below Euro4M, the malaysian versions had the filter removed to prevent clogging.

garycwh;532296 said:
you may want to check out whether the UK version has a particulate filter... i got the 2009 520d, as the fuel quality is still below Euro4M, the malaysian versions had the filter removed to prevent clogging.

I am getting a 535d myself. It will arrive sometime in October. Any advice on where can I do all these modifications?

I didnt have to do the mods myself, bought the CBU through Quill... all done up. If you bring in through recond, probably good to check whether these have been removed.

abka,

Do get at least a 525d or better still 530d but certainly not a 520d.

garycwh;532296 said:

with the particulate filter removed it can cause problems in the long run...might need premature overhaul of the engine..

BMW9700;553469 said:
with the particulate filter removed it can cause problems in the long run...might need premature overhaul of the engine..

Hi BMW 9700,

In that case then, just use the car as it is. My 535d only got 49k km. Really low millage for a 4 year car (2006 Sept).