BMW 318 (A) 1996

• Click here to become an Official Member of BMW Club Malaysia Download Form

rizalm

Club Guest
Hi guys,This is my first time writing something in the BMW Club Malaysia forum. Thinking of upgrading my Proton Wira to a BMW 318i (A), preferably the 1994-1997 model.I have a general question to all the BMW experts out there. I've compiled a selling price list of BMW 318i (1994-1997) from three sources for the past two weeks - The Star Newspaper, www.autoworld.com.my & Motor Trader magazine.By far, many people are selling the 1996 model. Is there some particular reason for this?Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Maybe after ten years harder to get loan???
Anyways if u r interested in a E36 318 Auto 1997 do pm me...RM 56K
Thanks

True, harder to get loan for cars more than 10 years old and if can get, higher interest rates too. It was the same during the time when I bought my ex-E36 1994 model in 2004. I just managed to squeeze in before the 10 years deadline.... :D

Thanks for the feedback guys.

I agree with the loan issue. How about the engine? Any problems with the 318i 1996 model?

318i yr 1996 should be M43 engine with timing chain.
Had a good experience with my previous 318i :)

Good luck and choice bro,

Pls hurry since almost 10 years.
Just got my very first udm and really different.
Almost settle for civic 1.7. lucky find good one.
M43 timing chain should be no prob. pm me to share experince

Hi Initial,

I also have to keep some cash in hand just in case I have to do some minor repairs. Just wondering, how much does a new timing chain cost?

i read this forum , there is one thread regarding timing chain. maybe u can do a search for that. if i am not mistaken, timing chain need to chain when ur car clock at 300k.

Hi Green Killer,

Yup all my friends ask me to check the gearbox. I heard a re-cond gearbox cost around 3k and above, if your lucky.

Hi guys,