Is it possible to tell what's the gear ratio?

• Click here to become an Official Member of BMW Club Malaysia Download Form

seewai

S62B50
Dear sifus,Is there a way with only the speed-and-rpm data, and brand of tranny, that you could "guess" the gear ratio?5sp Getrag, manual, is all I know, couldn't find any labels to tell what model it is.4th gear 2500 rpm = 80kph5th gear 2500 rpm = 100kph5th gear 3000 rpm = 120kph5th gear 3500 rpm = 140kphI'm on an E39 M54B25 now.Appreciate your expertise and guidance!Cheers.

Seewai, did you change your rear diff when you did the converion? I am not an expert with manual tranny, but it does seem your engine rpm is a bit on the high side.

If I understood you correctly, u're using a 5 speed Getrag manual gearbox???
If yes, the 5th gear ratio is 1:1...

As for the rear diff (final drive) ratio, there is a tag on the rear cover to indicate the ratio...

based on the info u posted, the final drive shud be between 3.15 - 3.45...
the speedometer isn't all that accurate and change of tyre size would the indicated speed.

Bro Vincent: The workshop claimed they did change the rear differential. Yes it does feel much higher, as though it's still running on auto tranny rear diff.

Bro pardypeople: Thanks for the useful link.

Bro fabianyee: Yes it's a 5sp getrag manual gb. It's the rear differential that I'm referring to. I'll try to look for the tag soon and see what I can find. You are right about the rim size and speed thing, I'm on 17" so I guess there shouldn't be much noticeable difference right?

Cheers.
seewai

Seewai, the metal plate should be attached to the rear diff. If it's missing you can still make a rough guess by rotating the prop shaft to see how many turns of the prop shaft takes inorder for the drive shaft or wheel to make one complete turn.