Insurance for 530i Sport 2003 E39

• Click here to become an Official Member of BMW Club Malaysia Download Form

haywire

Official Member
My car is nearly out from the port. Probably early next week. Now looking for insurance for the car. How much shall I insure it for? The Etiqa agent I contacted suggested to insure for RM100k with RM2k for windscreen insurance with 55% NCD which brings the total insurance to around RM1660. If i insure it for RM120k with RM2k windscreen insurance the total is RM1839.19.Any suggestion or other agent to contact? The problem is I need insurance companies that will accept UK NCD (I have 5 years NCD, UK doesn't use percentage only years). Tried a friend who does Prudential but they don't cover UK NCD.Would the insurance differ from one company to another or would it be around the figure above anyway? I have no experience regarding insurance in Malaysia since I have just returned to Malaysia after 7 years in the UK.[I posted the same question in my showroom thread, just thought this would be a proper place to ask though)

try etiqa. unsure on NCD for cars transferred from UK.
http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_inf...mbb/Personal/eINS-Insurance/eINS01-GetStarted

myeg as comparison:
https://rdtax.myeg.com.my/RHBI/formIns1.jsp?machine_no=123456&Insoption=RHBI

logically, amount shouldnt vary. However, on certain occassion, if you renew online, they tend to provide additional discount of approx 5%. I've asked for quotes between etiqa & myeg, ended etiqa gave me a slightly lower premium to pay. if memory serves me well, difference was between rm200 (+/-)

i was on NCD 55%, sum insured rm85k & windshield coverage RM1.5k, total paid RM1.277.07. Payment is online via Maybank2u to etiqa since its their subsidiary.

you can generate a quote from their online site to have an estimate. Call them subsequently to elaborate on car from UK & have them advise.

roadtax wise, shouldnt have any difference as it's based on cc.